jump to navigation

From the Podcast and New Media Expo – Podcast Transcript 23 September 30, 2007

Posted by Jeff in Podcast Audio Equipment, Podcast Transcript, Podcasting.
trackback

The Links and Transcript to “From the Podcast and New Media Expo” (4:53) released September 29, 2007 (click here to listen):

Hi, this is Jeff Frey from the Why and How of Podcasting. I’m at the podcast and new media expo in ontario california and gathering some great information to pass on to clients, people that want to me to advise them on their podcasts, or those who want me to teach a class for them.

Speaking of classes, the course that I was going to teach at the Suzanne M. Glasscock School of Continuing Studies at Rice University this fall was cancelled. I was going to use that to keep creating content on my blog and this podcast, but since it was cancelled, that took some wind out of my sails and I haven’t been producing much since.

It seems odd because the last class I taught was full and with a waiting list and this one only had a few people sign up. So, maybe it wasn’t advertised as well or something. Anyway. If you were one of those few people who signed up… send me an email and contact me about coming out to your location to do a day or two day course, or a directed class of some sort.

That goes for anyone in the Houston area really (unless you want to fly me somewhere, but), go to my blog at jdfrey.wordpress.com and check out a sample course outline under the podcast instruction link. If you like what you see, and you want to talk with me about coming out and teaching a course, email me at. Also, I’ve been doing more podcasting advising, creating, publishing, and things that businesses, educational institutions, and even just individuals are looking for in the podcasting realm. I’m ready and available to talk to you about your podcasting needs.

Right now, I’m creating this podcast just to get those of you listening to head to out my blog and check out my notes from the expo this year. It’s still going on for another day, and I’ll be busy trying to post things all this week. Some new hardware and software has come out, and I’m going to have to get back and research them a bit more before I tell you what I think of them. There IS a product I can tell you about that I want you to check out called copytrans. If you’ve got an ipod and you’ve ever been scared about losing your ipod songs, it does a full back up of you ipod including playlists and personal info. If you get a new computer, it does the same thing… it will load the info from your ipod into itunes instead of the other way around. If you accidentally delete a song, you can get it back… it’s just a great tool all around. I like it so much I’ve got a link on the side bar of my blog. J-d-f-r-e-y dot wordpress.com, click on the image on the right side of the screen, and I’ll also link to it in the transcript for this podcast (http://www.copytrans.net) along with a testimonial I found from someone else: http://jeffchin.com/2007/07/27/recover-your-itunes-library-with-copytrans/

Lastly, I’m recording this podcast on my H4 Handy recorder from the conference. If you’ve listened to me before, you know that for portable recording I went from an Edirol R-09 to this H4 because of the input jacks and the multi-tracking capabilities. Well, at the conference today, I was able to demo the Zoom H2 Handy Recorder… and think I might have another portable recorder in my pocket real soon. It’s about half the size of the H4, but seems to have the same sound quality for less money. I think if you don’t need the features of the H4, I’m going to have to say that the H2 is my top pick for highly-portable recording right now.

The unit comes with a small tabletop stand, an adapter that allows it to be mounted on a mic stand, a windscreen, a five hundred and twelve megabyte SD card. It will handle a 4 GB card, which is awesome, and that will get you about six hours of 44.1kHz recording, or, they say, 138 hours in MP3 format. Here’s a tip though, you’ll only get four hours of life from the 2 AA batteries that power it, so you’ll need to plug it in if you’re recording that long. It comes with an external power supply.

If you want use it for sound recordings, the unit even has a built in tuner and metronome. If you have multiple people or instruments, it has three microphones, one in the center and two on either side, this not only allows for stereo imaging, but you can also record from the front or rear… even doing Surround 5.1.

The only thing that the guys selling it at the expo said people complain about is the small buttons and interface… but… you know… I think I can deal with that for the amount money it costs… it’s just $200. So, for the cost, the portability, and the sound quality that I listened to during the demo… I don’t think you can beat it. I’ll have a link on my blog to the manufacturer and to a great review I found on the O’Reilly Digital Media website.

See this post for those links: https://jdfrey.wordpress.com/2007/09/29/a-look-at-the-zoom-h2-handy-recorder/

That’s it for me for now, I’m going to get back to the conference… and I’ll talk to you again soon. This is Jeff Frey for the why and how of podcasting… thanks for listening.

Comments»

1. Copytrans - Transfer iTunes Music to Another PC Using Your iPod « Jeffrey Daniel Frey’s Blog - October 5, 2007

[…] Here’s a podcast of mine where I talk a bit more about the functions and features of copytrans: Podcast 23 Transcript […]


Leave a comment