jump to navigation

Another Question about Portable Recording August 25, 2007

Posted by Jeff in Podcast Audio Equipment.
trackback

Josh writes:

I am looking to make podcasts. I am handy with the mac and I was hoping to use garage band. My BIG question is portable recording for under $200… is that possible?

I appreciate the help.

My response:

Garage band is perfect for podcasting. $200? Sure… but the quality won’t be very good. My recommendation is to get a Zoom H4 Handy Recorder. You can get them on ebay for a little over $200, or new for $250 to $300. http://www.zzounds.com/item–ZOMH4

His response:

I appreciate your response. I may have to wait, the recorder is a little out of my budget and I have never done any podcasting before. I need to try with something cheaper to make sure it is a worthy investment.

From me:

I’d go strait to your laptop (if you have one). You can buy a usb mic (search usb mic on my blog) like the snow ball or samson and record directly into garageband.

And finally:

Yes I think this is the best method for now. I will look at your blog and then get a good mic.

In this case, starting with the laptop is a great idea. Getting in on the ground floor with a good quality mic is always a great option for podcasting. Remember a good set of headphones while you’re at it.

Comments»

No comments yet — be the first.

Leave a Reply

