jump to navigation

The Why and How of Podcasting at Campus Technology 2007 July 31, 2007

Posted by Jeff in Jeff Frey, Podcast Conferences, Podcasting.
trackback

I did a poster session at the Campus Technology Conference in Washington, DC today on, what else, the Why and How of Podcasting. You can download a copy of the poster and email me if you have any questions about it.

PodcastPosterSetup

My main observations from the people I talked to and the questions I got are:

  • a lot of people want to do podcasting just because they think they should be using the technology
  • most campuses are podcasting courses, but not really looking at all the different ways they could be using the technology to push out other types of information
  • coming from the angle of concentrating on your audience really hits home with people
  • a few people came up to me and asked “so, tell me about what this podcasting stuff is”… and were serious, no clue, not even an inkling (this really surprised me… but it goes to show you that there are still people out there who don’t know what it is)

PodcastTable

So, I took the video ipod (as you can see from the picture) and played a couple classes with slides and voice overs to give people an idea of how that worked. You can see the mac there on which I basically plugged in a $30 headset and did a podcast for people while they watched (took 2 minutes). Those that were not into podcasting couldn’t believe how fast an easy it was. You can also see I took the H4. A lot of people wrote the specs on that down and I think if I had taken 25 or so with me, I could have sold them right there.

I think the only other thing I would have liked to have done is shown examples of the different reasons to podcast from other institutions. I really wasn’t set up to do that there. The poster probably should have been a full presentation… maybe next conference.

Comments»

No comments yet — be the first.

Leave a Reply

