jump to navigation

When Do You Podcast? and How Long Does It Take You? January 25, 2007

Posted by Jeff in Jeff Frey, Podcast Questions, Podcasting.
trackback

This week… I’m quickly writing responses to the 5 questions that I get asked about me and how I podcast.  Yesterday was where, tomorrow will be why.

When do I podcast?

Good question.  I try to do it at night or on weekends when there isn’t any construction activity.  (There is some construction going on a few streets over from my house, and every once in while I get a construction truck back up beep, beep, beep, beep… it’s bad.)  There is also a train close by, but the city put up a little webpage to show where the train is and an approximation of when it will come and how long it will be.  I try to time my podcast recordings in between the train schedule.  At least, if I start, I know I’ll have to stop in x number of minutes and can start up again in y number of minutes.

How long does it take to do a 5 minute podcast?

Another good question.  If I don’t script the podcasts that I do, just write some notes, and don’t care about editing… a five minute podcast could take 7 or 8 minutes to record, 2 minutes to add eqs and music to, and five minutes to listen to.  A post takes a couple minutes and then I usually get a script back from a podcast transcription service in a day.  I then post that.  All in all, 15 minutes on the short end.

Comments»

No comments yet — be the first.

Leave a Reply

