jump to navigation

Where Do You Podcast? January 24, 2007

Posted by Jeff in Jeff Frey, Podcast Audio Equipment, Podcasting, Rice University.
trackback

This week… I’ve decided to quickly answer the 5 “W”s of me and how I podcast (who, what, where, when, and why).

There are four places available to me to podcast.  One, at the Rice University Digital Media Center.  There is a closet there that is set up with a professional microphone and a mac with garage band and audacity.  Two, Rice IT has a video podcasting room that I haven’t ever personally used, but clients have.  IT will help you with the editing and the posting of your podcast.  The third place isn’t really a place.  You can podcast anywhere if you have the right equipment.  I have a Roland Edirol R-09 portable digital recorder and have access to a lot of other portable recorders that friends have.

Fourth, and where I do most of my work, is my home.  I have a mac with garage band and audacity on it and a pc with audacity and pro tools from my recording studio days (cakewalk is on there as well).  What I really use is my Roland VS2480.  It’s a digital recording board with effects and editing.  I have a monitor, keyboard, and mouse attached to it and all my jingles/sound/effects/eqs/etc. are stored in there.  I power it on, bring up my podcast settings and start recording.  I also use two Shure KSM44s condenser microphones for recording.  Sometimes I audio hijack skype voicemails and sometimes I run them right into my board as another channel and use headphones.  I use the levelator if levels are different.  I use libsyn as my host.

I think that covers the Where… and maybe even the How…?  Thanks for the questions.

Comments»

No comments yet — be the first.

Leave a Reply

