jump to navigation

Apple iPhone and Apple TV January 9, 2007

Posted by Jeff in iPhone.
trackback

I don’t like to do any predictions or buy into any hype that comes out about what will be released at expos and shows… so since it just happened today, as a fact, I can say the iPhone has been released. I thought it was coming, after seeing this on Wednesday, December 20, 2006 “Convincing Apple phone ‘leak’ surfaces”, and then reading a pretty believable “What Jobs told me on the iPhone” on Thursday January 4, 2007.

Though it sounds like you’re going to have to wait until June 2007 for it to actually be available (quoting Peter Cohen who is doing the Macworld Expo Keynote Live Update), it appears that you may want this little device.

Noticeably absent from the discussion was podcasting. Steve Jobs talked about figures and time-frames around Intel processors, the iPod, iTunes and downloading songs, movies, TV shows… but nothing about podcasts.

New products that he talked about included the iPhone, which I mentioned, and Apple TV. A way to use your tv to display digital media wirelessly from your computer. Very slick.

But, from what my perspective, what I need to concentrate on is… what do the iPhone and Apple TV mean to podcasters?

For example, some questions that I have:

Since the iPhone connects to the Internet, and syncs through iTunes… can it then download podcasts without having to be connected to iTunes on your desktop or laptop?

Will it be possible to embed phone numbers in our podcasts that you can “click” on to call in from the phone?

Will we have to start to change our aspect ratio or compression with podcasts if the intention is that people play them easily over Apple TV?

I’m sure some of my questions will be answered in the coming months, but I’m also sure that we’ll have to change some of the way we do things to take advantage of the new technologies.

Details on Apple TV can be found here: http://www.macworld.com/news/2007/01/09/appletv/index.php

Details about the iPhone here: http://www.macworld.com/news/2007/01/09/iphone/index.php

Comments»

1. Audio Equipment Speakers - March 6, 2009

I know some people who have an iPhone and have had a few problems with them. Now they were fixed but for the price I would want something that works right out of the box. Until I can get one with Verizon I’m sticking with my blackberry.


Leave a Reply

