jump to navigation

The Simplest Reason to Podcast – Podcast Transcript 4 January 5, 2007

Posted by Jeff in Podcast Transcript.
trackback

Helpful Links, Audio Setup, and Transcript to “4 – The Simplest Reason to Podcast” (5:03) released January 7, 2007 (click here to listen):

Helpful Link:

Audio setup: I learned this from a podcasting college student…

  • Record your self in your dorm on this:

recorder

  • Go buy one of these:

cable

  • Plug one end into the out of the recorder and one end into a college computer lab machine:

labmachine

  • Hit record on the computer and play on the recorder, and you’ve recorded your podcast.

The Transcript:

Hi, I’m J.D. Frey from The Why and How of Podcasting. What’s the simplest reason to podcast? Some people might disagree, but I’m going to tell you that you should podcast… because you can. Chances are, if you’re LISTENING to this podcast… you CAN podcast. Now… I didn’t say… “because you can”… is my number ONE reason to podcast… I just said it’s the simplest. Think about it, let’s say you’re listening to this podcast on a computer. It probably has a microphone or a place to plug one in. I’m guessing it has some sound recording software on it… and probably an Internet connection. That’s it my friend, you’re a podcaster. Oh, it’s not your computer? You’re a work, in a library, or at a school where you can’t record in private? Maybe you’re not listening to this on a computer, but some portable device that you own. Not a problem. Do you have a boom box at home, (laugh) a tape recorder, maybe that portable device has an attachment you can buy to record. How ever you can do it… record yourself. Then what? Go buy a one-eighth inch to one-eighth inch cable for less than 5 bucks at your local electronics store. Find a computer with an Internet connection. Plug one end into the headphone jack of the device where you have your recording, and one end into that mic input on the computer I mentioned earlier. Hit record on the computer, and play on the device. Some podcasters will say, “well, that won’t sound very good.” No, not really, in fact…

This is what it sounds like. No fancy microphone, no voice enhancements, just a tape player that I dug out of a closet, a used tape, and one-eighth inch cable plugged into my computer to record. It doesn’t sound as good as I’d like it to, but the point is, I’m podcasting.

After you have your file on the computer it gets a bit more complicated. You have to make sure your file is of the right type, upload the file, name the podcast, register it with podcast directories, and so on… but if you find a good podcast hosting service, they’ll help you through the process of doing those things with online wizards, instructions, chat and even call-in help lines. Again… why podcast? What’s the simplest reason to podcast? Because you can… and I’m here to tell you… you CAN podcast. How do you do it? That’s just as simple as you want to make it. See the actual audio set up I had for today’s minimalist podcast on my blog that you can click to at thewhyandhowofpodcasting dot com. I know it’s a huge address, just type it in… the why and how of podcasting dot com. I’ll also put a link the blog today to a podcast hosting service rundown with suggestions on who to go with.

While I’m at it, and since I mentioned it earlier, let’s talk about my number one reason to podcast. Why should a company, a school, an art gallery, a fitness group, a sports team, a craft club, a math guru, a game player, a mom, a grandmother… why should YOU podcast? Because you have something to say. Every individual, whether they know it or not, has something to say that someone else wants to hear. It doesn’t have to be profound, solve some big mystery, or be anything that thousands of people want to hear… it just has to be… something. It doesn’t even have to be said. It could music or sounds… and even though I talk a lot about audio, it could be pictures, diagrams, or movements that video taped. … So, what do you know? What do you do? What do you LIKE to do? / What do you think about? / What do you think about what others know, do, or like to do? It doesn’t even have to focus on a particular topic. It can be about anything at any time. There is someone out there that will listen. I guarantee. It might not be a lot of people, you may not be tops on the podcast rankings, search engines may not list you in the top 10, 100, or even 1,000 hits when searching… but… you can have a voice using this awesome new media that as easy to set up as I discussed earlier. So, if you’re podcasting now. Congratulations. Keep it up. If you haven’t started yet, why not start now? Don’t let us all miss out on what you have to say. If you ARE going to start a podcast today, or sometime soon, or maybe you have a simple set-up like I talked about or a story about your listeners and ‘having something to say’… contact me. My info is out at the why and how of podcasting dot com. You CAN podcast, and you have something to say.

I’m J.D. Frey… thanks for listening.

Comments»

No comments yet — be the first.

Leave a Reply

