jump to navigation

Portable Podcast Recorder – Roland Edirol R-09 November 9, 2006

Posted by Jeff in Podcast Audio Equipment, Podcasting.
trackback

10/27/07 – UPDATE – search portable podcast recorder on my blog for info on the Handy H4 (my favorite right now) and the little H2 Recorder.   Also, you have to check this out: FlashMic.

If you’re podcasting, portable podcast recording will eventually be in your future. One day you’ll want to go somewhere and capture something, and you won’t have a way to do it. There are plenty of portable audio recorders on the market, and some are aimed at podcasters (see a previous post of mine). I just got my hands on an Edirol R-09 from Roland, and compared to others I’ve played with, it’s my top pick.

Edirol R-09 from Roland

First the negatives, when purely recording strait… no settings… and just recording silence (which is how I get my base to fill in silent portions of a podcast)… there is a bit of fuzz. It’s ever so slight, it’s easily taken care of in post production, and most people wouldn’t hear it at all. Also, though it’s light and compact, I think they could have made it a bit more solid. Though, if they used more metal and bulkier parts, I would be complaining that it was too big and too heavy. It feels a bit toyish and plastic, and watch out for the battery compartment and cover flimsyness. You just have to be careful with it.

Second, with the bad stuff out of the way, the good stuff. There is too much to mention here, but It’s really small (smaller than the MicroTrack) and weighs 5.4 ounces with two AA batteries in it which allow for 4 hours of recording. The built in microphones sound better than most, and you can record at 44.1 or 48kHz sample rates. It also has 1/4 inch external mic and line in jacks. You can save files as WAV or MP3, and it also comes with an internal reverb processor that’s actually very good. Quick switching from stereo or mono, gain boost, and a low-cut filter help for on the fly recording. It comes with a 64MB SD card, and though I have a 4GB card already… it only supports up to 2GB (about $40). The graphic display is really nice (reverse colored), so you can really see what’s going on. You USB connect it to your computer when you want to transfer, or if you have an SD reader, it’s helpful as well.

Click here for the manufactures website… the rest of the specs are on there.

I also found a full review of the R-09 including the specific sound capture specifics from http://www.sonicstudios.com/r-09revw.htm and linked the pdf document of the page here in case that page ever goes away.

Happy portable podcast recording!

1/20/2007 Update: See also this post on the Zoom H4.

Comments»

1. Portable Recording Equipment for Your Audio Podcast « Jeffrey Daniel Frey’s Blog - November 28, 2006

[…] 11/9/2006 Update: I just got my hands on a Roland Edirol R-09, I think it tops the MicroTrack… check out my review. […]

2. Labelga - July 28, 2008

Hello is your an Edirol R09 W, an RO9 HR, or an R09 B?

I’m just learning about this device. With thanks and best wishes.

3. Shams Bhai - January 4, 2009

A very Nice Website Ive seen Uptill. Excellent post. Keep it up! Good day

4. Shams Ali.P - January 9, 2009

Amazing Site I like it. It Was Quite Interesting NiceWork I appreciate the information you provided Excellent post. Keep it up! Good day!

5. blah blebidy bleb bleb - April 1, 2009

nice work

6. Bill Bartmann - September 3, 2009

Cool site, love the info.

7. dauntless - April 21, 2010

Just wanted to say what a well written review that was. I like how you hightlighted the good and the bad about the r-09. Well done.

dauntless

8. eliana » Bass Guitar Chordal Approach Portable Podcast Recorder - May 27, 2010

[…] engineer Mark Nelson, whose unusual reviews of pocket digital recorders are top-ten Google hits.Portable Podcast Recorder ? Roland Edirol R-09 ? Jeffrey Daniel..10/27/07 ? UPDATE ? search portable podcast recorder on my blog for info on the Handy H4 (my […]

9. Loretta - February 28, 2011

I’m still confused about what to get. I present workshops and want to sync them with video or use as podcast or audio. Need something decent but inexpensive. What are the prices?? Thanks.
-Loretta
http://www.TaiChiGala.com

10. titorvis - December 11, 2011

I’m about to have a podcast in my vehicle…I’m looking for a good device that won’t pickup the ambient sound in the vehicle, the motor, etc. Anything you would recommend?

Jeff - December 13, 2011

You can use almost any portable recorder, but I’d buy a directed lapel mic or a headset with an 1/8″ jack and plug it into the recorder. That will pick up your vocal and reduce the background noise. Once done, you can run it through a filter to get rid of the background noise.

Jeff

11. Mobile Locksmith Adelaide - April 9, 2013

sdmqqkegsfz, 24 Hour Locksmith Adelaide, YZRcpkJ, [url=http://familyorganicgarden.com/]Locksmith Adelaide[/url], bvcwKJQ, http://familyorganicgarden.com/ Car Locksmith Adelaide, wGlsIMF.

12. Albertina - July 13, 2013

I every time spent my half an hour to read this blog’s content everyday along with a mug of coffee.

13. breast actives price - July 13, 2013

I have been exploring for a bit for any high quality articles or blog posts
in this sort of area . Exploring in Yahoo I eventually stumbled upon this web site.
Reading this info So i’m glad to express that I’ve an incredibly excellent uncanny
feeling I discovered just what I needed. I such a lot undoubtedly will make certain to do not fail to remember this website and
give it a look regularly.


Leave a Reply

