jump to navigation

PRWeb® vs. PR Newswire? October 12, 2006

Posted by Jeff in Podcast Marketing, Podcasting.
trackback

I had this question asked by someone about a month ago… PRWeb vs PRNewswire? It’s not really a question of “vs.” as it is “or”… PRWeb or PRNewswire? As with a lot of things, it depends on who you are and what you’re doing. Since I’m a get to the point type of guy: Go with PRWeb and grow into PR Newswire. If you think you have that hit podcast, gadget people won’t be able to do without, small business idea, etc. and you have some cash to invest upfront (and you’ll be able to sustain it), go directly to PR Newswire.

Sign-up and Cost
You can go the websites and check out the features, but you can tell a lot from a companies membership application. PRWeb (PRW) has an on-line instant free sign up form with a few required fields and PR Newswire (PRN) charges $125 a year for membership, has a four page form you can email or fax in, and they will set up your account in a day or two. (That right there is enough to realize which one you’re likely to go with.)

Minimum for Press Release
PRW $10. PRN over $100. The services are obviously different.

Normal Press Release
By normal, I mean an average run of the mill nothing fancy release for their company. PRW $40-$120. PRN $645. Again, not exactly apples to apples comparison… you get a lot more with PRN, and as I said, if you can afford it go with them.

Extras
PRW… not so much compared to PRN… regional distribution $170 – $360, targeted distribution to markets $395 – $1985, and global distribution $8000.

Bottom line, if you’re reading this, you’re probably an independent podcaster wanting to know how to get a bit more visible. So unless you’re already a large company, or as I said, have that for sure thing that will bring in the big bucks: Go with PRWeb and grow into PR Newswire.

UPDATE:

Mr. Business Golf (http://clickcaster.com/businessgolf) commented on a different post (prweb vs. prnewswire):
businessgolf – October 13, 2006[Edit]
I am looking for a free site that hits the markets of people who would want to know about Business golf…(another shameless plug). Until the cash flow is formed I am not in shape to move off into one of the sites that deposit an arm and a leg into their bank account each day. (speaking about hosting services)
My response:
5. Jeff – October 13, 2006[Edit]
Go check out http://www.jasonvanorden.com. He’s just released a book on podcast marketing and it may help you out. Also, see my post about on-line press release companies and consider sending a press release out.PR Newswire has what they call a ‘Microlist’ where they deliver your press release directly to reporters covering niche industries. I checked Golf correspondents / magazine writers… and they have 309 different writers that they will give your press release to for $325. Who knows, you might be called for an interview, get an article in a magazine, or have your book featured in a review?Not cheap, but the one time fee may be worth getting the recognition…?

Comments»

1. Tubey - January 8, 2007

Awesome!

2. Jay Harper - July 16, 2007

I don’t see why you say PRNewswire is better other than the fact that it costs more… From an SEO perspective, PRWeb does a much better job than PRNewswire

3. Jeff - September 28, 2007

Well, I really like the ability to have more targeted content with PRNewswire.

4. Rich Owings - November 17, 2007

Thank you!

5. Andy Graham - November 9, 2008

“As with a lot of things, it depends on who you are and what you’re doing.”

I have two large Travel Websites and will soon do press releases. I am presently trying to monitor both sites to see if one would be more relevant to travel. However, maybe we should or could do a press release with both companies. Is this advisable?

6. Armbar - December 10, 2008

I’ve done a press release with PRWeb and got some results.
I’ve done a press release with PRNewsWire just yesterday and have not seen any results yet. I am hoping PRNewsWire press releases get published later on, or get some attention later down the road as journalists may decide to include in magazines or papers. I’ll have a better idea few days from now, but at the moment I regret using PRNewsWire, they have also mispelled the company name in the Source.

7. metBroaphrara - January 5, 2010

delicate answers i like it

8. Nick Lane - March 24, 2010

I like the topic that you choose. But I would recommend doing a comparison for:
” PRweb vs. PRNewswire vs. Press Release Group”
If you check out the comparison of these three here:
http://www.pressreleasegroup.com/submit-press-release.html
You will see that PRG offers more services for a much lower price.

Just my thoughts. For small businesses like mine, every dollar counts….

9. shannon - December 16, 2010

good stuff. i’m in the market for a PR company as well. i’m just curious, will these companies let you know who and how many peolpe have picked up the story? Or is it just “pay and pray”

10. India City Pages - December 29, 2010

Prefer PR sites with niche and subject-wise press releases, articles and useful news stories. Also see local newswire sites like http://indiacitypages.com/freepr

11. munaza - March 13, 2011
12. Concerned PRweb customer - September 10, 2012

We did a recent press release for Fast Tract Digestion Heartburn, a new book about the real cause of heartburn and a diet to address it. The article was on PRWeb as promised, but they sent us about 40 links showing all the news services that picked up the press release. Only one problem: The press release was not Google searchable to these sites, and even more interesting, the press release was not searchable from most of the news sites’ home pages. The postings on these pages seemed like they may not be legitimate. We have asked our credit card company to investigate these postings and asked PRWeb to take down our press release from their site until we get to the bottom of this. Have you heard of this practice? Is PR web on the up-and-up?

13. Ben - November 26, 2012

Thanks Jeff for your article. From my perspective the using of PR Web service is the most cheap and popular for companies which just started to promote their business. You could find some good ideas at essay topics for management classes , just click.

14. peace sign toe ring - February 13, 2013

Excellent post but I’m not sure that I agree. However, people consider me tricky at the best of times! Thanks.

15. http://sparkletoes.everythingideal.co.uk - February 13, 2013

Smart way of seeing things – I’m a little more of a black and white guy, myself

16. silver jewellery India online - February 15, 2013

I hope you will not mind me visiting and saying thanks to
you for the article – it genuinely helped

17. Plastics manufactured in America - June 21, 2013

You could definitely see your expertise in the article you write.
The world hopes for more passionate writers such as you who are not afraid to say how
they believe. At all times go after your heart.

18. how do I get out of credit card debt - August 1, 2013

It is really sad how a lot of people are getting into credit card debt as
of late. However there are ways to get your self out of this situation by negotiating credit card
debt simply by yourself. However you seriously need to know just how to react to credit charge card providers communications

19. techmw - July 6, 2014

we just used PRWeb for techmw for our wireless story, i feel the service is quite good and yes, as you said, a good package to start marketing with. But i guess it’s what you spend, that leads you to what you get

20. minecraft officiel - July 30, 2014

Hi there, You have done an incredible job. I will certainly digg it and personally suggest to my friends.
I am sure they will be benefited from this web site.

21. buy a domain - August 8, 2014

Hello, its pleasant piece of writing concerning media print, we all know media is a enormous source of facts.

22. pat at pool table 911 - September 20, 2014

Hi there! I could have sworn I’ve beren to this blog
before but after reading through some of the post I realized it’s new to me.
Anyways, I’m definitely glad I found it and I’ll be bookmarking and checking
back frequently!

23. family law court lawyers - September 23, 2014

I blog quite often and I seriously appreciate your content.
This article has truly peaked my interest.
I am going to book mark your site and keep checking for new information aboout once
per week. I opted in for your RSS feed too.


Leave a Reply

