jump to navigation

Choosing A Hosting Service For Your Podcast October 9, 2006

Posted by Jeff in Podcast Academy, Podcast and Portable Media Expo, Podcast Hosting, Podcasting, University Podcasting.
trackback

I started researching hosting services for podcasting and found about 85 different hosting services that I would say were established (nice website, many users, answered the phone when I called customer service, etc.). There were about 35 more that you could tell were newbies. I didn’t find an exclusive list, but I found two lists that were helpful:

http://www.okaytoplay.com/podcast-hosting/

http://evhead.com/hodgepodge/podcast-sites-alexa.html

You have to watch what list you’re looking at because a lot of them come from the host themselves who get a neutral domain name, put out a review of everyone, and make themselves look better than they are. The second link that I show is from odeo, but they do an okay job of being fairly neutral.

Based on what I learned from Podcast Academy and the Expo I attended a few weeks ago, I knew to look for things like:

  • the ability to use your own domain name
  • no ads
  • unlimited bandwidth
  • statistics
  • and other things…

So, I narrowed the list down to 10: Akamai, Big Contact, Genetic Hosting, GoDaddy, Hipcast, Libsyn, Odeo, Ourmedia, podOmatic, and Podshow. After that, I did further investigation of their service offerings, costs, and extra costs / software / etc. that you need in order to really get things done. Some offer ‘free’ hosting, only to find that if you want to do anything serious, you need to pay extra for their client software or premier package (some of which have a very large cost). I’d rather find a place that told you strait out, here’s what we have and do, and this is how much is costs (even if it is a lot).

Thinking about the extras idea above and using the tips collected from all those sessions at the Academy and Expo again, I narrowed my list of 10 down to three. Genetic Hosting integrates Podkive into their offering which is a great archival and management system for podcasts (saw them at the Podcast Expo). They also are very open about their costs. Libsyn appears to do somewhat of the same (archiving), and they have a pretty good attitude/nature overall as a business. They have also just released a pro version that caters more to businesses and schools who are looking to do multiple podcasts under one roof. It looks to have great features and upgraded resources. Akamai is the big dog, they are used by large companies. They have it all, but they know it.

After phone conversations, demos, and playing live with all three companies / products … Libsyn is my pick for the average podcaster. Genetic is too new… they will figure it out in time, but not just yet. Akamai is for companies, large businesses, and those of you that have the cash and want it all.

Find out more: http://libsynpro.com/.

UPDATE 1 (10/13/2006): I should have given you libsyn’s main site link, the link above is for businesses and schools with multiple podcasts. The link to the free area that the beginning podcaster can use is: http://www.libsyn.com.

UPDATE 2 (11/25/2006): I took a tour of libsyn pro recently. I think schools and universities should check it out as a hosting service if they are not into hosting podcasts themselves. It allows an entity to have multiple podcast producers, but keep all the maintenance and stats in one place across all of the podcasts. Also, it would be a good solution if you had multiple podcasts that you are producing and you don’t want the hassle of different accounts for each one.

Comments»

1. businessgolf - October 13, 2006

What about ClickCaster? That is where I am cutting my teeth with the Mr Business Golf Show.

2. rexdixon - October 13, 2006

Yes, I use clickcaster.com also. I see absolutely *nothing* at the site you just linked above http://libsynpro.com/ — I mean, yeah, they have clients, such as NPR, etc… but… where are the podcasts?

Listen, I feel your pain. When I was looking for a podcast host – I went through the same trial and error. Check out my show on clickcaster – 7 Minutes with Rex Dixon – http://clickcaster.com/rex-dixon

Rex

3. Jeff - October 13, 2006

I should have given you libsyn’s main site link. Thanks for the reminder: http://www.libsyn.com.

About Clickcaster… I ruled that out right away because of the in-ability to have your own domain name. From what I’ve learned in seminars and more so from people I know who have had to switch providers… you’ll want your own http://www.mypodcastname.com so that you can always keep your subscribers. Using a front like feedburner can help with that too. I also saw the interface for Clickcaster at a conference and, though robust, I didn’t like the fact that you had to use it and didn’t have access to your files via FTP. I did like the way they did stats though, very similar to libsyn.

I’m glad you’re having a good experience with Clickcaster… both good podcasts. Mr. Business Golf… you missed the opportunity for a free plug. (Go check out Mr. Business Golf’s Podcast at http://clickcaster.com/businessgolf.)

4. businessgolf - October 13, 2006

Yes there are two of us, Rex Dixon http://rexdixon.wordpress.com and 7 minutes with Rex Dixon http://clickcaster.com/rex-dixon and myself use ClickCaster as a spring board and we link to our pods from WordPress.

I take the best of my stuff and post it on my web-site http://innovativebusinessgolf.com where I hope I can capture some traffic to sign up for my newsletter or buy my book or book me for a speaking engagement or one of my seminar/workshops….(how is that for a plug?)

But as you mentioned, as far as hitting my target market the ClickCaster does not get close to hitting any market as far as I can tell. Search engines pick up CC for podcasting, but not for what is in the site or who is in the site.

So, I am looking for a free site that hits the markets of people who would want to know about Business golf…(another shameless plug). Until the cash flow is formed I am not in shape to move off into one of the sites that deposit an arm and a leg into their bank account each day.

5. Jeff - October 13, 2006

This is getting a bit into marketing… but go check out http://www.jasonvanorden.com. He’s just released a book on podcast marketing and it may help you out. Also, see my post about on-line press release companies and consider sending one out.

PR Newswire has what they call a ‘Microlist’ where they deliver your press release directly to reporters covering niche industries. I checked Golf correspondents / magazine writers… and they have 309 different writers that they will give your press release to for $325. Who knows, you might be called for an interview, get an article in a magazine, or have your book featured in a review?

Not exactly cheap, but the one time cost may have on-going benefits…?

6. Alojamento - February 14, 2007

Check out PRWeb.com they are the leaders when it comes to submitting Press Releases.

7. Jeff - February 14, 2007

Yes, I like PRWeb.com as well. See this post: https://jdfrey.wordpress.com/2006/10/12/prweb%c2%ae-vs-pr-newswire/

8. The Church and Sermon Podcast Hosting Niche « Jeffrey Daniel Frey’s Blog - February 20, 2007

[…] want to do this, what are the options?  There are plenty of podcasting hosting services out there (see this post), but what about those services claiming to be church or sermon podcasting services.  I did a […]

9. Review HostingTops - August 19, 2007

oooh,
to host podcasts you need a lot of traffic and webspace.

i would recommend crucialwebhost or dreamhost. i had some experiences with them and they are good.

10. John Perry - September 19, 2007

I am biased, but look at http://www.k12learn.com K12 Learn is a podcast hosting solutions of K – 12 schools looking to produce podcasts for education. The reporting statistics have been great for administrators looking to justify the grant monies being used to purchase these services. I hope this helps

11. Jeff - September 28, 2007

Nice. I’m doing a lecture for the Greater Houston Education Collaboration Group (http://www.ghecgroup.net) and will bring that site up in the talk.

12. John Perry - November 15, 2007

Thanks Jeff. K12Learn is working on a contract with a district in Houston. Hopefully your lecture will help the efforts.

13. James Pell - November 17, 2007

Jeff,

You have been a lot of help in the past. I finally got my podcast Losing Weight After Baby.com up and running on Libsyn. So far we have 11 shows. I have registered it on every directly I know of. According to the Libsyn stats we get about 100 downloads per a week.
How would you increase the exposer the show gets?

Thanks again,
James

RSS:
http://losingweight.libsyn.com/rss
Itunes Link:
http://phobos.apple.com/WebObjects/MZStore.woa/wa/viewPodcast?id=264419615

14. Jeff - November 18, 2007

Good question. I think I’ll make a post out of this tomorrow.

Post to Websites, Forums, Podcasts, and Blogs:
First, I would do what you’re doing now. You posted a comment to my blog with the link to the rss feed and the itunes link. As long as you just don’t post the links, but ask something, say something meaningful, or stroke someone’s ego (i.e. “You have been a lot of help in the past.”… you won’t get spam filtered or deleted. Also, most blogs screen out more than two links, so be cautious about adding comments with three links on a blog. Find sites, forums, podcasts, and blogs about your subject. In your case, there are plenty of pregnancy sites / blogs that you could get into where the women will think about you later, and plenty of newborn sites that you could get on. Take a week and just find all of them. Dedicate yourself to posting meaningful and helpful posts on forums about your subject. Also, exchange audio promos or links with podcasters around the same subject. Just record an intro to another persons podcast, and mail it to them. Tell them you are willing to do the same on yours.

Create a Press Release:
Press releases are a great way to get picked up by online media. Companies like PRWeb or PRNewswire can help you out with that. They’ll even let you pick and choose markets and sites for the press release to be distributed to. After doing this, you will see a big influx of listeners. Make sure you have a good set of shows (11 is good), the last one is amazing, and your last 3 or 5 have been fairly consistent (or else you’ll lose that initial influx).

Distribute Content Everywhere:
I’m now seeing the huge benefits of distributing your content to as many places as possible. Speaking in general terms, if your podcast is video, put it on youtube, google, veoh, etc. If audio, make a 30 second video promo of your podcast (it could just be pictures, an explanation, etc… BUT… it’s better to do something useful) and put that promo out there for everyone to see. The last still frame should say something like “Learn more at http:…” and give them the link. If you can help 50 people out there on YouTube with a clip of something you talked about on your last podcast… do it. Then, drive them to your site by telling them where to get more help. There are companies like TubeMogul that will help you do this as well… you submit your video to them… and they post it all over the net.

I think these three things will get you started, and will get you a lot more listeners than you have now. Creating a press release is a one time thing, unless you change something drastically. The content distribution is just good practice and should become routine. I think the most time consuming, but maybe the most important, is the connections you can make with other sites, forums, podcasts, and blogs.

Good luck!

15. Arlene Pellicane - February 15, 2008

Jeff,

Whenever I have a question, you alwasy seem to know the answer. My hosting company, Libsyn is down and has riddled with technological difficulties. Two question: What happens if I switch to another hosting company? It can’t be good I have spent hours promoting my show Losing Weight After Baby.com. Second, question is who would you recommend for hosting services?

Thanks Again,
Arlene Pellicane
http://www.losingweightafterbaby.com/

16. eric@HostGator Coupon - February 22, 2009

podcasts is the new media in internet marketing and i still need to learn more. hostgator is the one that i am using for all my hosting needs, but i don;t know if they are suitable for podcasting, certainly affordable in price too.

Jeff - February 22, 2009

Though I’m not sure if this comment came from a person or a bot, I actually have folks who use hostgater and seem to like it.

17. Alojamento Sites - January 15, 2010

I think almost every services outthere can host podcasts. hostgator, godaddy, dreamhost and so on.

I would recommend a big hosting plan and lot of bandwidth.

18. Viavelabietle - March 12, 2010

Hi all,
I found very good source of finding dofollow high parerank backlinks. Even from real PR10.
I cant imagine value of a real pr10.

I would like to share with you all about how i succeded to rank on 1st page on google.
prseo@hotmail.com
http://Www.playhitmusics.com

19. pilule pour maigrir - June 8, 2011

great article Thanks Again,

20. adobe acrobat reader for windows 7 - January 8, 2013

I simply couldn’t depart your website prior to suggesting that I really enjoyed the standard info a person give your visitors? Will be back often in order to check up on brand-new posts

21. youtube.com/watch?v=h6ngBq85GJk - January 8, 2013

Hello, I enjoy reading through your article. I like to write a little comment to support you.

22. concert tickets - January 21, 2013

wonderful points altogether, you just gained a logo new reader.

What may you suggest in regards to your publish that you made some days ago?
Any certain?

23. Judy - January 29, 2013

Howdy, I believe your blog could possibly be having internet browser compatibility issues.
Whenever I take a look at your website in Safari, it
looks fine however, if opening in IE, it’s got some overlapping issues. I merely wanted to provide you with a quick heads up! Apart from that, great blog!

24. tabletworld1.wordpress.com - February 6, 2013

Thanks for sharing your thoughts on tablet. Regards

25. squidoo.com - February 7, 2013

Thank you for every other magnificent post. Where else could anybody
get that type of info in such a perfect approach of writing?
I’ve a presentation next week, and I am on the search for such information.

26. on this site - February 8, 2013

Ahaa, its nice dialogue on the topic of this article here at this web site,
I have read all that, so at this time me also commenting at this place.

27. funny memes - February 18, 2013

Good answer back in return of this difficulty with real arguments and telling all on the topic of that.

28. Paulette - February 25, 2013

Fantastic info. I enjoy all of the content, I must say i enjoyed, I would really
like more details concerning this, since it is really
nice., Thank you for discussing.

29. divorce lawyer - March 2, 2013

Very good info. Lucky me I came across your blog by accident (stumbleupon).
I’ve saved as a favorite for later!

30. Maggie - March 28, 2013

Hello there, I found your website by way of
Google whilst searching for a comparable topic, your web site got here up, it appears to be like good.
I have bookmarked it in my google bookmarks.
Hi there, just changed into alert to your weblog via Google,
and found that it is truly informative. I’m going to watch out for brussels. I’ll appreciate in the
event you continue this in future. Numerous folks might be benefited from
your writing. Cheers!

31. athletic tape carolina blue - April 9, 2013

Link exchange is nothing else except it is just placing the
other person’s webpage link on your page at proper place and other person will also do similar in support of you.

32. Jana - April 24, 2013

It truly is horrific when a piece of writing starts off excellent then ends awful.
Luckily, yours doesn’t do that! Lol, thought I was gonna say it ended lousy, didn’t you?
Na, it was good through and through. Kudos!

33. Dollie - April 24, 2013

Hey there! This is kind of off topic but I need some help from
an established blog. Is it hard to set up your own blog?
I’m not very techincal but I can figure things out pretty quick. I’m thinking about making my
own but I’m not sure where to begin. Do you have any tips or suggestions? Cheers

34. in the know - May 6, 2013

Thanks , I’ve recently been searching for info approximately this subject for a long time and yours is the greatest I’ve came upon till
now. But, what about the bottom line? Are you certain concerning the source?

35. GoDaddy Discount Coupon - May 22, 2013

you are in reality a excellent webmaster. The site loading pace
is amazing. It kind of feels that you’re doing any unique trick. In addition, The contents are masterwork. you’ve done a magnificent
task on this matter!

36. english springer spaniel - June 2, 2013

Hi there! I realize this is somewhat off-topic but I needed to ask.
Does building a well-established blog like yours require a massive
amount work? I am brand new to running a blog however I do write in my diary daily.
I’d like to start a blog so I will be able to share my personal experience and feelings online. Please let me know if you have any kind of ideas or tips for brand new aspiring blog owners. Thankyou!

37. 24 hr appliance repairs - June 12, 2013

I do not know whether it’s just me or if perhaps everyone else encountering issues with your website. It appears as though some of the text in your content are running off the screen. Can somebody else please provide feedback and let me know if this is happening to them too? This may be a issue with my internet browser because I’ve had this happen before.
Kudos

38. induction cooktop - June 18, 2013

I seldom drop comments, however i did a few searching and wound
up here Choosing A Hosting Service For Your Podcast
| Jeffrey Daniel Frey\’s Blog. And I actually do have a few questions for you if you usually do not mind. Could it be simply me or does it appear like a few of the comments come across like they are left by brain dead people? :-P And, if you are writing at additional online social sites, I’d like to
keep up with anything fresh you have to post. Could you make a list of all
of all your communal sites like your twitter feed, Facebook page or linkedin profile?

39. http://www.picowiki.com/ - June 24, 2013

I am regular reader, how are you everybody?

This article posted at this web page is in fact pleasant.

40. e-cigaretter - June 27, 2013

Hi there, I discovered your website via Google even as searching for a related matter, your site came up, it looks good.
I have bookmarked it in my google bookmarks.

Hello there, simply changed into aware of your weblog through Google, and found that it’s really informative. I am gonna be careful for brussels. I’ll be grateful in case
you continue this in future. Lots of people will be benefited
from your writing. Cheers!

41. Leroy - June 28, 2013

Incredible points. Solid arguments. Keep up the good
work.

42. lose weight - July 11, 2013

I’ve been browsing on-line more than 3 hours today, yet I by no means discovered any fascinating article like yours. It’s pretty worth enough for me.
In my view, if all webmasters and bloggers made excellent
content material as you did, the net will be much more useful than
ever before.

43. Lydia - July 11, 2013

Woah! I’m really enjoying the template/theme of this website. It’s simple, yet effective.
A lot of times it’s very hard to get that “perfect balance” between usability and visual appeal. I must say you’ve done a
awesome job with this. Additionally, the blog loads super quick for me
on Internet explorer. Excellent Blog!

44. credit card debt blog - July 19, 2013

Hi there would you mind sharing which blog platform you’re working with? I’m going to start my own blog in
the near future but I’m having a tough time making a decision between BlogEngine/Wordpress/B2evolution and Drupal. The reason I ask is because your layout seems different then most blogs and I’m looking for something unique.

P.S Sorry for being off-topic but I had to ask!

45. http://www.blacknet.co.uk/ - July 30, 2013

Thanks a lot for sharing this with all of us you really
know what you are talking about! Bookmarked.
Please also discuss with my web site =). We could have
a hyperlink alternate agreement among us

46. can i lose 10 pounds in a month - August 3, 2013

I love your blog.. very nice colors & theme. Did you design this website yourself
or did you hire someone to do it for you? Plz reply as I’m looking to design my own blog and would like to know where u got this from. kudos

47. www.youtube.com - August 4, 2013

As the admin of this web site is working, no uncertainty very rapidly it will be renowned, due to its feature contents.

48. roofing contractors delaware - August 26, 2013

Write more, thats all I have to say. Literally, it seems as though you relied on the video to make
your point. You clearly know what youre talking about, why waste
your intelligence on just posting videos to your site when you could be giving us something informative to
read?

49. kagirohi.net - August 29, 2013

Hey there! I could have sworn I’ve been to this site before but after checking through
some of the post I realized it’s new to me. Anyhow, I’m definitely delighted I found it and I’ll be bookmarking and checking back frequently!

50. afternoon tea catering - September 11, 2013

I almost never write responses, but i did some searching and wound up here Choosing A Hosting Service For
Your Podcast | Jeffrey Daniel Frey\’s Blog. And I actually do have a few questions for you if you
usually do not mind. Is it only me or does it give the impression like some of these comments look like written by brain dead folks?
:-P And, if you are writing on other social sites, I would like to follow everything
fresh you have to post. Could you make a list of
every one of your community sites like your Facebook page, twitter feed,
or linkedin profile?

51. Tana Dammann - September 22, 2013

I am curious to find out what blog platform you’re working with? I’m having some small security issues with my latest website and I would like to find something more safeguarded. Do you have any suggestions?

52. realestateorlando - October 18, 2013

hey, i’m so happy that i stumbled across your website I will be
bookmarking this! – real estate ct is an interest of
mine and and your “Choosing A Hosting Service For Your Podcast | Jeffrey Daniel Frey\’s Blog” article is absolutely
cool work.
keep up the great work I’ll surely be back again soon!

53. legacy luxury homes MN - January 21, 2014

Hi! Do yoou knolw if they make any plugins to help with Search Engine Optimization?
I’m trying to get my blog tto rank for some targeted keywords but
I’m not sseing very good results. If you know of anyy please share.
Many thanks!

54. http://sportscarphoto4.soup.io/post/382702113/Street-Legal-Cars-Most-Important-Features - March 12, 2014

When I initially commented I clicked the “Notify me when new comments are added” checkbox aand now
each time a cpmment is added I get four emails with the same comment.
Is there any way you can remove me from that service?
Thanks!

55. jasa cuci sofa - April 13, 2014

Hello this is kind of of off topic but I was wanting to know if blogs use
WYSIWYG editors or if you have to manually code with HTML.
I’m starting a blog soon but have no coding knowledge so I wanted to get advice from someone with experience.
Any help would be enormously appreciated!

56. best e-cigarette manufacturer - April 26, 2014

I was wondering if you ever thought of changing the structure of your website?
Its very well written; I love what youve got to say. But maybe
you could a little more in the way of content so people could connect with it better.
Youve got an awful lot of text for only having
one or two images. Maybe you could space it out better?

57. http://true-wireless.com/ - June 22, 2014

Wow that was strange. I just wrote an very long comment but after I clicked submit my comment didn’t
appear. Grrrr… well I’m not writing all that over again. Anyway,
just wanted to say fantastic blog!

58. Roseanna - September 13, 2014

Internet marketing has become a complicated discipline
that involves a great deal of theoretical knowledge in combination with
applied techniques. Make the process of ordering be stress-free to complete at all times as possible.
Both reach and targeting are very important factors to be considered when drafting digital marketing plans as they significantly affect
the effectiveness of the plan.

59. cigarettes cigars - September 16, 2014

Hey There. I found your blog using msn. This is a really well written article.

I will make sure to bookmark it and come back to read more of your useful info.

Thanks for the post. I will definitely comeback.

60. weight loss depends - January 21, 2015

Greetings! I’ve been following your web site for some time now and finally got
the bravery to go ahead and give you a shout
out from Dallas Tx! Just wanted to tell you keep up the fantastic job!

61. getting genuine car-parts - April 13, 2016

If you are goinjg for finest contents likke myself, only visit this web site
all the time for thhe reason that it offers ferature contents, thanks

62. pigmentacion - October 24, 2016

It is not my first time to pay a visit this web site, i
am visiting this website dailly and get good facts
from here everyday.


Leave a Reply

